The Us 

The Us

Let’s take a car ride to the end of my street

Although short in distance, let’s see how it’ll be

What’s on your mind?

Speak to me

I want to see your thoughts linger in our long distance memories

Like something that’s on wheels I want it to skate it’s way to me
Let’s take a car ride to the end of my street

So we can binge on memories we created way back when

Have them tickle our hippocampus and beat rhythm into our finger tips

I want to tap my fingers on your thoughts, so they’ll remember the lines of every print
Although short in distance, let’s see how it’ll be

From where we started off, nothing more than this

Damn we’ve come a long way, but I still feel hella empty

Top me up

Let me feel your words rush my ear drums

I want them to echo sweet melodies of your voice

Or am I being pushy, as I see that’s what causing our distance
What’s on your mind?

I don’t have tricks up my sleeve as you can see

I bleed like you and hurt too

So if you ain’t using your words, what we doing on the road boo
Speak to me

We’re reaching a dead end here

Or should those thoughts just crash and burn

Like ashes and dust they’ll eventually be swept away

And I’m sorry to say but there ain’t no Cinderella on her way

Ain’t no Prince Charming that’ll whisk you Away

Baby it’s you and I

Or is it you

& I
I want to see your thoughts linger in our long distance memories

Or am I getting ahead of myself?

Is it too much to ask of you just to speak, or have I lost my hearing and sight

Cos your lips ain’t moving b
Like something that’s on wheels I want it to skate it’s way to me

Whether it’s cripple or broken in its struggle to escape your mouth

Let em out

Even if I don’t want to hear it, I’m all ears for it

I swear my heart is loaded and my gun is empty

So repeat after me

Let

It

All

Be

Leave a Reply

